clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

10 things to know about the Presidents Cup

Golfing in the land down under

Getty Images/Pete Rogers Illustrations

As we enter the 13th rendition of the Presidents Cup we gear up for an exciting matchup. Patrick Cantlay, Bryson DeChambeau, Tony Finau, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Matt Kuchar, Xander Shauffele, Patrick Reed, Webb Simpson, Justin Thomas, Gary Woodland and Tiger Woods make up the American roster while Byeong-Hun An, Abraham Ancer, Adam Hadwin, Sung-jae Im, Marc Leishman, Haotong Li, Hideki Matsuyama, Joaquin Niemann, Louis Oosthuizen, CT Pan, Adam Scott and Cameron Smith make up the International roster. Tiger Woods is the US Captain and Ernie Els is the International Captain. America has won the last seven times and holds a 10-1-1 record in this event. The International players come from Australia, Canada, Chile, China, Chinese Tapei, Japan, Mexico, South Africa and South Korea.

  1. Three International Participants are not only having their first appearance in the Presidents Cup but are representing their country for the first time in the event: Abraham Ancer (Mexico); CT Pan (Chinese Taipei) and Joaquin Niemann
  2. Matt Kuchar is the lone American with a losing record at Presidents Cup
  3. Louis Oosthuizen is the lone International golfer with a winning record at the Presidents Cup
  4. The American team has a combined 19 Major Victories; the International team has 6 (not including assistant coaches)
  5. The first time Melbourne hosted the tournament (1998) the International team had their one and only Presidents Cup win.
  6. Tiger woods has 12 appearances in the Presidents Cup (only Phil Mickelson has more), the next closest on the American team is Matt Kuchar with 4. Ernie Els is tied for the most International appearances, with Adam Scott and Vijay Singh.
  7. Australia has the most Presidents Cup representatives on the International team since it’s inception in 1994 with 50 appearances across 17 players
  8. Brooks Koepka and Jason Day had to withdraw due to back and knee injuries. Rickie Fowler and Byeong-Hun An filled those open spots.
  9. While the International Team has 8 players with the highest Official World Golf Ranking (OWGR), the American team has 8 players with the most FedEx points from 2017-2019.
  10. The host course: Royal Melbourne Golf Club is a 36 hole course founded in 1891. The West Course is ranked a top 5 course in the world. The course is also very short by current standards standing at only 6,569 yards.

Happy Watching All!