clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SB Nation Baseball Awards: A Minor Rant As Roy Halladay and Clayton Kershaw Tie for the NL Cy Young Award

Here is the 3rd baseball award that the SB Nation baseball writers voted on recently, the NL Cy Young Award, and it was the closest of the races so far. Actually, it ended in a tie between aces Roy Halladay and Clayton Kershaw. Actually, it should never have been a tie as one voter must have been looking at 2010 stats when he submitted his ballot, as he gave Kershaw a 5th place vote.

How in God's creation can you give Kershaw a 5th place vote? Well, let's just say the person who submitted his ballot with a 5th place vote for Kershaw roots for a team in the same state. Sour grapes?

Anyway, I submitted Fake Teams ballot for this award and here is how I voted:

1. Clayton Kershaw, LAD

2. Roy Halladay, PHI

3. Cliff Lee, PHI

4. Ian Kennedy, ARI

5. Tim Lincecum, SFG

Looking back, I would have ranked Phillies starter Cole Hamels with my 5th place vote.

And I wrote this piece on why Kershaw should win the NL Cy Young Award awhile back.

The results of all of SB Nation's baseball writers after the jump:

The points system allocated to each place vote was 7-4-3-2-1, which is the same as the BBWAA:



Num Name 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Total
1 Clayton Kershaw 14 11 2 Ê 1 149
1 Roy Halladay 13 13 2 Ê Ê 149
3 Cliff Lee Ê 4 21 2 Ê 83
4 Ian Kennedy Ê Ê 3 14 6 43
5 Cole Hamels 1 Ê Ê 7 8 29
6 Madison Bumgarner Ê Ê Ê 2 3 7
7 Tim Lincecum Ê Ê Ê 1 4 6
8 Matt Cain Ê Ê Ê 1 3 5
9 Chris Carpenter Ê Ê Ê 1 Ê 2
10 Johnny Cueto Ê Ê Ê Ê 1 1
11 Zach Greinke Ê Ê Ê Ê 1 1
12 Craig Kimbrel Ê Ê Ê Ê 1 1