clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

National League CY Young, MVP and Rookie Of The Year Leaders

Here are my votes in Baseball Happenings' Rotojunkie in-season NL voting for the Big Three Awards. The total votes should be available later this week.

NL CY Young:
1. Brandon Webb, Arizona Diamondbacks
2. Edinson Volquez, Cincinnati Reds
3. Carlos Zambrano, Chicago Cubs

The third place vote was the hardest. It came down to Zambrano or Tim Lincecum. Lincecum has more strikeouts and a better ERA, but I went with Zambrano for three reasons. 1.) He has allowed just one more run in 10.2 more innings 2.) he has pitched more innings and 3.) The Cubs are in 1st place

1. Lance Berkman, Houston Astros
2. Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals
3. Chipper Jones, Atlanta Braves

This strays from my general rule of selecting MVPs from play-off teams, but the leading hitters from the 1st place clubs pale in comparison to these top three. Chase Utley, Hanley Ramirez and Derreck Lee just don't compare to the overall production of Berkman, Pujols and Jones.

1. Geovany Soto, Chicago Cubs
2. Jair Jurrjens, Atlanta Braves
3. Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds

The first two choices were easy. Soto has an OPS of .970 at a demanding defensive position, and Jurrjens is 6th in ERA as a rookie. The final spot came down to Joey Votto and Kosuke Fukudome. I went with Votto because his OPS is 46 points higher than Fukudome's OPS. While the .407 OBP that Kosuke has given the Cubs is exactly what the team needed, I couldn't look past the middle-infielder-esque .420 OPS from the right fielder.